Nominations to stand in the Shire of Augusta Margaret River local government elections closed at 4pm today with seven candidates set to contest the four available seats. The candidates, in (surname) alphabetical order are:

Helen Allan David Binks Ian Earl Julia Meldrum Richard Moroney Tracey Muir Carl Wheeler

The elections now enter a period of campaigning before a public vote will take place on Saturday 16 October 2021. The successful candidates from this vote will join continuing (mid-term) councillors Brian Daniel, Kylie Kennaugh, Paula Cristoffanini to form the new Council. A new Shire President to be elected by majority vote at the first new Council meeting.   Shire of Augusta Margaret River CEO Stephanie Addison-Brown encouraged the community to get involved in the democratic local government elections process by voting. “The Council is there to represent the community,” she said. “You can do your research via a range of means including through media channels such as local press, social media and radio. “We have also compiled the candidate profiles online.” Profiles can be accessed at The election will be conducted as a postal vote.