New Shire Councillors sworn in at ceremony

Three new Councillors and two returning Councillors were sworn in to their positions at a Swearing in Ceremony on Monday, 21 October.

23 October 2019

Cr Michelle Rich and Cr Dave Atwell were re-elected to Council at the weekend’s local government election, along with new Councillors Lauren Strange, Michael Dagostino and Dean Strautins.

The five Councillors each secured a four year term on Council.

A Special Council Meeting was also held where the Council re-elected Cr Rich as Shire President and re-elected Cr Atwell as Deputy Shire President.

First elected as Shire President in 2017, Cr Rich said she looked forward to continuing in the role and representing the Council and community.

“I would like to thank the Council for their support for me to continue as Shire President,” Cr Rich said.

“While we have delivered great outcomes for our community over the past few years, we recognise there is still a lot more work to do.

“I will continue to be a strong and positive advocate for our Shire so that we can deliver the critical projects and services for our growing community.

“I would also like to congratulate Councillors Strange, Dagostino and Strautins on their election to Council and I look forward to working with them.”

Cr Rich acknowledged retiring Councillors Dave Gossage and Sam Piipponen as well as outgoing councillor Jacqui See who was unsuccessful in her bid for re-election.

“Thank you to the three Councillors for their service to Council and our community,” Cr Rich said.

“They have all made a significant contribution during their time on Council and I wish them all well in their future endeavours.”

Photo: The new Shire of Serpentine Jarrahdale Council was sworn in at a Swearing in Ceremony on Monday, 21 October.