The Queensland Fire and Emergency Services - Rural Fire Service has issued a fire ban covering the Local Government Areas of Boulia, Burdekin, Burke, Carpentaria, Charters Towers, Cloncurry, Diamantina, Doomadgee, Flinders, Hinchinbrook, McKinlay, Mornington, Mount Isa, Palm Island, Richmond and Townsville.

The fire ban is current from Midnight on Thursday 12 September 2019 until Midnight Friday 20 September 2019.

For more information, please see the Fire Ban Declaration.

TH 11 September 2019