2019 Woollahra Digital Literary Award winners announced

Published: 7 June 2019

Congratulations to the winners of the 2019 Woollahra Digital Literary Award, announced at a special event at Woollahra Library at Double Bay on 31 May, hosted by ABC presenter Michaela Kalowski.

Rachel Ang won the Fiction category with Toot Toot, a story about how a run-in with an ex turns her protagonist's otherwise banal train trip into an emotional vivisection that transforms the landscape.

Fiona McGregor won the Non-fiction category for her piece The Hot Desk: Working Hot by Mary Fallon, a retrospective account of the publication and reception of Kathleen Mary Fallon’s little known 1989 novel Working Hot.

Jason Nelson won the Poetry category with Nine Billion Branches a poem which encourages us to interact with the everyday.

The Award was founded by Woollahra Council in 2017 to support innovation in digital writing, and in recognition of Australia’s position as a global leader in eBook adoption and ‘digital-first’ writing.

Award judges Sam Twyford-Moore, Stephen Pham and Pip Smith selected the winners from a shortlist of 16 entries.

Woollahra Mayor Peter Cavanagh praised the vivid storytelling skills and distinctive voices of the winning writers and congratulated all shortlisted authors.

“We are fortunate to have a thriving digital writing community, and Woollahra Council is pleased to be able to support emerging and established writers working in this important medium,” Mayor Cavanagh said.

“Congratulations to all winners and also those who were shortlisted on their compelling and innovative writing.”

The 2020 Digital Literary Award will open for entries in December 2019.

Read more about the Woollahra Digital Literary Award.

Return to current news...